Change Is Gonna Come

I cannot lie to my boys.

During some general mom talks, it comes up about the false stories some parents often share with their children to make the world seem less harsh and more kind.

I cannot lie to my boys.

In my eyes, and the eyes of my family, color is not a tool for division, but a minor physical difference tangible to place of birth, ancestry, genes, and melanin levels. Ethnicity is a fun thing to learn about to fully understand the history of people as a whole. Language is only a temporary barrier that can be overcome with patience and willingness to learn and comprehend. In our house, racism is not practiced nor taught.

But…

I have and will continue to teach my boys that racism does exist. That the color of their skin will sometimes matter more to others than the intelligence in their heads. That the color of their skin will sometimes, unfortunately, be a determining factor in a job they strive to get. That the color of their skin will sometimes lead to false beliefs and accusations.

I cannot lie to my boys.

But..

I can and will continue to educate my boys to understand that they determine their own success, not the color of their skin. I can and will educate my boys to understand that they can attain anything they wish to achieve through vigilance and hard work, despite the color of their skin. I can and will educate my boys to be the bigger man, to prove all stereotypes false through their positive actions and kind words towards any person, no matter the color of their skin.

I cannot lie to my boys.

They know and will continue to learn that it is not the color of skin that makes a person who they are, it is the mindset a person has been taught; the morals, values, and humane priorities. They know and will continue to learn that each living person in the world carries a beating heart, bones, and a brain regardless of skin color, making us all one people. They know and will continue to learn that though the world may treat them unfair at times, that they are to do to others what they wish to be done to them.

I will not lie to my boys.

Today’s blog title encouraged by Sam Cooke.

Leave a Reply

