How’s It Going To Be

INVITATION

by Shel Silverstein 

If you are a dreamer, come in,

If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,

A hope-er, a pray-er, a magic bean buyer…

If you’re a pretender, come sit by my fire

For we have some flax-goldentales to spin.

Come in!

Come in!

Its amazing how much a person can retain from their own childhood and apply to their current life.
There are motivational poems, stories from books, even those tediously annoying songs about grammar and punctuation that my mom (or other educational “grown up”) would plant in my brain that I now live by.Especially “Where the Sidewalk Ends” by Shel Silverstein…wow. I haven’t thought about that book in ages and yet its has played a major role in molding me.

Goodnight Moon, Corduroy, Chicken Soup With Rice, and those Frog and Toad books were some of the other books that taught me the value of friendship, patience, obedience, and the importance of honesty. They provided an escape from reality while still supplying me with the necessary tools to face real life in itself.
James and the Giant Peach, another story so motivating and uplifting that the excitement I conceal awaiting my boys to one day read it is rather ridiculous.
Since I’ve grown, my taste and love for books has far from dwindled. In fact, I used my Kindle so much that it imploded. Not literally, but it did stop working randomly one day. There is no one genre better than the other, no one writing style that supersedes. I consider the versatility of the things I read much like that of a diverse group of friends. I appreciate each one of my friends for what they offer and the differences they present in being themselves. The same goes with the books that I read.

I have inadvertently passed this trait on to my boys. They have a love for books much like I did, excited to visit the mystery world every time a new page is turned. I wish I had more books for them. I wish they had privy to The Reading Rainbow TV show!

My collection has turned towards a slightly more graphic-novelish route since I’ve grown, but there is still nothing quite as satisfying as a big clunker full of Times New Roman font set at 12 point and smells slightly of dust and trees.

Its a dream of mine to have a full library in my home. Its a dream of mine to own a home *insert laugh*
Seriously though, if you or anyone you know has books to give away (in pretty decent condition) no matter the genre (especially childrens!), send them my way! I promise it will be an effort worth trying!

Random revelation: I could spend $5000 on books alone, with ease.

I bid thee adieu!

Blog entry title encouraged by Third Eye Blind.

Leave a Reply

